top of page
  • Tiffany Rose

My Wash Day Routine!

Updated: Apr 8, 2020

Hey y'all! How are you? Hope you are doing wonderful. (: I collaborated with natural hair blogger La Shane' (Instagram account @naturalnae_la ) to bring you our different wash day routines. Her blog is NaturalNae_La, linked below. There are so many different wash day routines. Mine may differ from yours. Remember your routine is YOUR routine. It's based on what works for you. Now without further ado, here is my natural hair wash day routine.

https://naturalnaela.wixsite.com/naturalvibes/blog/wash-day-routine

 

1)  Detangle hair The first step in my wash day routine is undoing and detangling my mane. I finally get to see my Afro after a week. I usually have it in a protective style such as a bun or braids. Then I separate my hair in three sections: back, middle and front. To detangle, I use a wide tooth comb. Basically, I comb out my hair after a protective style.

2) Shampoo

The second step is shampooing my hair. I know some of you may not shampoo, instead you co wash. Shampooing is a huge attribute in my routine. I love when my scalp is clean from all the product, build up and germs from people's hands when they attempted to touch my hair. To shampoo I: •Put the shampoo all over my head •Separate my hair into four sections •Wet and wash each section thoroughly focusing on my scalp first then my hair strands. Also, I ensure my hair is fully lathered.

•Wash all the shampoo out my hair

3) Condition & Detangle To condition my hair, I definitely do not put a dime size amount as directed on the bottle. Who are they fooling?

•Put a generous amount all over my hair. •Confirm that all of my hair is covered with conditioner. •Let it stay in my hair for three to five minutes while I'm in the shower •Using a wide tooth comb, detangle my popping coils from ends to root. (While detangling with conditioner in my hair, it became an easier process versus untangling with no conditioner

•Rinse the conditioner out my hair.

4) Grease hair

Gasp! I know! Grease is a taboo subject in the natural hair community. I've been using grease since forever and it's been a life saver. It's like God himself presented me with hair grease. I section my hair into tiny sections as I go. As I separate the hair, I grease my scalp with Dax Kocatah.

5) Moisturize, Detangle & Seal After greasing my scalp, I separate my hair into four sections. My hair is already detangled from step 3, but I detangle again while I moisturize my hair. This ensures less tangling and better distribution of my moisturizing product. With the sections of my hair, I separate that section into two. Then with those sections, I put my moisturizing product on my hair and comb each section.

Afterwards, I seal it with Softee Argan Oil Hair & Scalp Conditioner.

6) Style This is the most fun and frustrating part. Picking a style is exciting but actually doing it is disappointing when you don't get the right results. Especially when you start to do your hair all by yourself. My arms get tired when doing this step. Despite this, I am elated every time I complete a hairstyle. I pick a style I think I'm capable of doing. I choose styles that are protective such as a braids. Afterwards, I try to accomplish the style with my limited skill and a prayer.

 

Thank you so much for reading! Check out the collaboration post La Shane' made on her blog. Don't forget to subscribe to my blog by joining the mailing list and share this post. If you have any questions or comments don't be hesitant to contact me through the "Contact " tab or through Instagram (ms_tiffrose) (:

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page